Anna’s Ski Resort; screens!

I’ve been working on my iOS skiing minigame…thing, called Anna’s Ski Resort (named after Anna the skiing girlfriend) and it’s made some progress. I used sprites from the old Windows SkiFree game and split the game into two modes: endless and slalom. Endless is pretty self-explanatory: keep skiing down an increasingly complicated mountain littered with trees, rocks and, naturally, abominable snowmen until you wipe out and hit something. Slalom is similar except you have to dodge trees and snowy beasts whilst weaving around flags.

Quick, dash past while the snowman's not looking!

The control system is touch based: tap to the right of the player to move right and tap the left of the player to move left. The further away you press from the player, the faster you’ll move across. It works with a mouse, but I really need to get hold of an iPhone/iPod and test it properly with a touch screen. I haven’t played around much with an Android version because from what I’ve heard, AIR for Android is a pretty painless affair.

Watch out for the trees; they hurt. A lot.

Aside from some boring ML (which I did a pretty good chunk of today), that’s about all I’ve got to offer. Propulsion is waiting on some graphics, which may or may not be coming depending on the workload of the artist I have lined up.  We still played a lot of Mario Kart today though. We can’t always be working…

Until next time!

Ruairi

Leave a comment