General Update; 06/11/11

Not much to speak of at the moment. I’m in week 5 of my first term at Cambridge which essentially means “shit is getting real”, so to speak. Silly amounts of work etc. I’ve had less time for game dev as a result but I did some fiddling and modified the physics and collisions code from Propulsion to make a generic platforming ‘engine’. Also used some NES Castlevania sprites and added in a whip attack and a skeleton enemy which walks along platforms until it reaches the edge and then turns around. If you hit one with your whip, it explodes in a bunch of purple squares. Very exciting, I’m sure you’ll agree! Here’s a screen; it’s nothing right now but if I get an idea for it, I’ll run with it.

Hit skeleton with whip; ???; profit.

Hit skeleton with whip; ???; profit.

Since I lost my graphic designer for Propulsion, I’ll have to get on that myself now. I need to figure out what I want for the main character, it’s tempting to still with the ball with a rotating barrel but it seems a little bland. I’m just awful at animating so a rotating ball seems like a decent option for me. Environment wise, I think I’ll use the ‘previous’ designer’s idea of making it space themed. I might shed the coloured backgrounds in favour of some sort of space vista. We’ll see, here’s what it looks like now for reference.

So nearly done...yet it still looks a bit rubbish.

So nearly done...yet it still looks a bit rubbish.

Nothing else to say; busy.

Ruairi

Leave a comment